Professor Rivas came to Stanford as an assistant professor in January 2014. He was an assistant professor in Electrical Engineering at the University of Michigan. Before becoming a faculty member in 2011, he worked for the General Electric Global Research Center developing power electronics for medical imaging and aviation systems. He received the B.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the Monterrey Institute of Technology (Mexico) in 1998. He obtained his masters (2003) and doctoral degree (2006) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His research interests are in power electronics, RF power amplifiers, resonant converters, soft switching topologies and design of power converters for operation in harsh environments. Learn more.


   Graduate Students

Grayson Zulauf
gzulauf@stanford.edu

Sanghyeon Park
spark15@stanford.edu

JiaLe Xu
jialexu@stanford.edu

Weston Braun
wdb@stanford.edu

Lei Gu
leigu@stanford.edu

Kawin Surakitbovorn (North)
north@stanford.edu

Jia Zhuang
jzhuang7@stanford.edu

Zikang Tong
ztong@stanford.edu

   Alumni

Max Praglin
MS '16

mpraglin@alumni.stanford.edu

Wei Liang
PhD '18
liangw@stanford.edu

Luke Raymond
PhD '18
lraymond@stanford.edu

Emily Hernandez
MS '18
ehernndz@stanford.edu

Jungwon Choi
PhD '19
jwonchoi@stanford.edu